I Read Your Book

 

 

In this entry I really tried to capture the feeling of being in a relationship where the other person puts up walls. I wanted to convey a longing to know that person deeper with a hint of frustration as well. I hope you enjoy my scribbles.

 

 

I Read Your Book

a poem by Chris

 

I read your book

It was just a quick look

You keep it so close; always by your side

Is it your comfort or is it you guide

 

The feel of warmth still on the page

The essence of you I wish to cage

Curiosity that you seem to pique

Knowing the real you; is what I seek

 

Each page I turn earmarked or not

Brings me closer to an intention or thought

I probe the page not to pry, not to intrude

But to know your heart and in its full nude

 

For we build walls high protecting our hurt

To never let others  witness our dirt

We push out and keep at arm’s length

Wasting our effort and sapping our strength

 

I wish to learn all that is you

To be your plenty; to be your glue

Hoping you’ll invite me into your nook

With us paired together reading your book

 

 

5 thoughts on “I Read Your Book

  1. Chris, I would like to feature your poetry on my blog and would like to include this one, I Read Your Book in my Poetic License segment. Miss Katia recommended your blog to me. I will of course give you full credit and a link back to your site. Additionally, every four months I also combine the previous months into one large post. If you don’t mind please let me know.

    Here is the link to the November Poetic License (http://morningerection.wordpress.com/2010/11/20/poetic-license-3/) if you would like to see that before making up your mind. Thank you for your consideration, regardless of your decision. By the way, it will be posted in May if you agree to it. I’m happy to say the other months are already filled.

    1. Tom,
      You may include my poem “I read you book” in your Poetic License area on you blog. Thank you for considering my work.
      Chris

Leave a Reply

