I am your puppet; you thief of sleep

 

Dead weary
image from 67pics.com

This is poem about my terrible fight with insomnia. I hope someone out there can relate to this thief of  peace. If it ministers to you in any way, please leave a comment.

 

My heavy lids

a poem by Chris

 

My thoughts run through my mind

like a marathon runner who pushes past the wall

Excerpts of today, yesterday and right now

Fill up behind my eyes and push my lids open

 

Up and down and pulsing with frenetic movement

You won’t quit: you 24 hr picture show

I starve you, I exhaust you, I medicate you

But your power over me is complete

 

I exist in a waking dreamland

and an intensely focussed night-time

Your attack on my sleep comes in waves

Like a four-star general’s war plan

 

You drain the enjoyment of my play

Like a faucet that can’t be tightened any more

Drip,drip,dreary

Eyes begin to close while driving

 

I view my world through puffy eyes and illusions

No amount of head shaking and cheek slapping

Can clear your enormous cob-web

I am caught in your effort

 

Oh Insomnia,

In the day, I can hear your siren’s call to my slumber

In the night, you are a lover who wishes just to  fight

Time gets turned on its head

 

I age more rapidly

No nourishment of rest, no replenishment of the day’s efforts

The mirror reflects a stranger

A ghost who I feel I know in my heart, but can’t recognize its features

 

Cruel but cunning is your way

You addict to caffeine and enjoy its ravenous crash

Each day you sew another string to your marionette

lifting each limb with a terrible jerk

 

Great scissors, where are you

The giant pair my mother told me not to run with

Take your leading edge and cut from me my strings

Then the pressure will release and I will softly fall into deep slumber

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “I am your puppet; you thief of sleep

  1. Ok, ok…this was awesome… It describes insomnia at its best.. You made me laugh!…. I view my world through puffy eyes and illusions
    No amount of head shaking and cheek slapping
    Can clear your enormous cob-web

  2. yes, your descriptions are oh so true, we try to fix our past, present and future behind our lids but it does not work, the motor keeps whirring in our heads…

Leave a Reply

