I’m Not As Cool As I Like To Think I Am

 

image taken from thekingschapel.org

 

 

 

I often seem to struggle with the concept of Humility. To be very honest with you all, I can be bragadocious at  times. This is something the Lord is working on me with and is speaking to me daily about. Today’s quote really illuminated that fact to me so I thought I would pass it on to you folks. I hope it speaks to you and points you back to a  reverence and humility towards God.

This quote was taken from the book “Encouragement For Men” by Barbour Publishing

Here it is:

“Watch the way you walk. Not with your head held high above others , but not with your head down and your eyes on the ground, either. Walk humbly so that you can see where you are going”.

 

Here is what God thinks about the subject of humility:

Isaiah 66: 2  “…But this is the one to whom I will look: He who is humble and contrite in spirit and trembles at my word”.

 

If anyone out there is in my position or feels convicted about their own personal humility, it is OK. God wants us to bring to Him these things. It means He is doing a work in you. I like to imagine that God is “pruning my tree” and getting rid of the branches that don’t bear fruit and throwing them in the fire. If you aren’t feeling convicted about things or you have an apathy towards sin in your life, Watch Out.  That means your heart has become hard and you are not following in Christ’s path.

Here is another awesome promise from God:

Philippians 1:6  “For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus”.

Wow, hope for all of us who desperately want to serve Him with all our hearts.

 

 

The Great Plains Poet

2 thoughts on “I’m Not As Cool As I Like To Think I Am

  1. There is nothing more dangerous to our walk with God than Pride. I want to always remember that the talents or gifts I have are from God. Humility is a very attractive character trait to me.

Leave a Reply

