The End Of A Journey

I'll run until I finish the race

Tomorrow my wife graduates from college. I began to sit back and think about the journey. As I do, I am filled with a great sense of pride; what an accomplishment. I can remember the nights of cramming for finals with a baby on her lap and a cup of coffee in her right hand while cradling her laptop in her left. I remember when she would check off a course on her degree syllabus when she would finished a class like playing a real life BINGO game. There were so many memories I could share here but the one point I want to get across is: you can’t finish a journey if you quit before the end. Quitting: the killer of so many dreams, the staller of so many lives and the foundation of shifting sand. The biggest thing I take away from my wife’s accomplishment is : No matter how big that obstacle, obstruction or elephant is: You just have to take one bite at a time and never give up. She had many opportunities to stop, call it quits or just plain give up; but she didn’t. In fact she set the example for her child and husband proving that you can finish a journey and see its reward.

You know Jesus humbled himself and became a man to die on a cross for all that did sin and would sin in the future. He knew it was the only way for all of the world to be saved. After training his disciples the hour became to draw near. Jesus was about to endure great physical pain and momentary separation from the Father. Here are His words in Matthew Chap 26 verse 39 “He went a little farther and fell on His face, and prayed, saying, “O My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from Me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as You [will].” If Jesus wanted, he could have packed it all in, quit and went right back up to be with the Father again; but He stayed the course. In fact he gave up His will for the Father’s instead and now all man can be saved if they will believe in Christ, confess that Jesus is Lord and ask forgiveness of their sin. None of this would be possible if He gave up. So, if your journey is stalled and you feel the Lord urging you to continue on. Ask God to help you to stay the path. Ask God to show you why you gave up? Is it a lack of belief in God’s control over your life.? Are you so weary from doing it in your own power that you forgot to “pray without ceasing”? Or, did you allow the enemy to knock you off your path. All of which can be easily remedied right now. Cry out to God, ask for strength and ask him for the reward of finishing well. Read this passage, as it has brought me comfort when I have “stalled” in my life. Galatians 5:7 says “You were running a good race. Who cut in on you and kept you from obeying the truth? Here is another one as well: Hebrews 12:1 “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.

Hey folks, Let’s see our journey to its end and finish well. God’s always home, sitting by the phone, waiting for his children to call. Why don’t you give Him a ring.

A beaming husband, praising God for this closure of my wife’s journey.

Here’s to you Mrs. Great Plains Poet

Enjoy the poem and, as always, please feel free to leave a comment

God Bless,

The Great Plains Poet

The End Of A Journey

by Chris T.

With my destination reached I can sit awhile

As I think about the journey I begin to smile

Yes, there were thorns, hiccups and stumbles sometimes

Highs and lows, rewards and crimes


Though I grew weary you were ever there

Never forgetting your vigilant stare

And times seemed hard and without any sense

But where there were holes, you repaired the fence


When it was too much I gave out a call

And there you were, catching my fall

Setting me down in a gentle place

And wiping the tears from my solemn face


For I raised your banner high and lifted it up

And I let others drink from your bottomless cup

You showed me joy at every bend

and brought this Journey to an end

3 thoughts on “The End Of A Journey

  1. Ok,
    I cried, I smiled, I reflected, I felt encouraged and…went down on my knees to pray!
    grazie ancora una volta amico mio. Congrats wife! God bless you, Che Dio ti benedica!

    1. Katia, I always appreciate your comments because you “Get it”. I am so thankful to be used by God in any way. He is my source and I pray all will turn from their wicked ways and follow Him.

Leave a Reply

