Blocking The View Of My Shoes

Sorry for this pic! I just wanted to drive my point home.

It is so easy to lose control. We are just so sinful by nature and we always run to find something that will fill us up inside; instead of the Father’s love.  The last few weeks, I have put a new vigor into my diet. Now, for most folks, they need to lose a little weight to be healthy and look good in that bathing suit. I need to lose weight because, if I don’t, it will literally, lead to my death. I have a couple of health conditions; that if I am carrying too much weight, will lead to my destruction. When I was diagnosed with these conditions, it was really hard to put my old Italian buffet style appetite to rest. I struggled with the portions, the meal times, the blandness of the food and the expense and inconvenience of portioning EVERYTHING. I grew tired of it. You see, I never looked at it as a lifestyle change.  I tried to put the new food in the old way of thinking and that just didn’t work. I failed in my first attempt at being healthier. It just seemed that I was doomed under the “old ways” of thinking. So, a couple of days ago, I was having my “together time” with the Lord and I was praying for God to help me with my diet and my commitment. As I was pouring my heart out to the Lord, I ran across this verse in the book of Romans. Here is the verse : Romans 7:6 “But now we are released from the law, having died to that which held us captive, so that we serve in the new way of the Spirit and not in the old way of the written code. ” 

God is telling me, through Paul’s letter to the Romans, that I am no longer a slave to my sin. I have been released from that gluttony because I have accepted Jesus Christ as my savior with the Holy Spirit firmly taking up residence there in. You know what people; when we ask forgiveness of our sins, we then need to turn from that sin and live anew in the Spirit. Because of Christ’s work on the cross, I no longer feel doomed to repeat my sin of gluttony; over and over and over again. I have been set free of those chains and now have a choice to walk a more excellent path. I know it will be hard. I know I will struggle; but my strength is not my own. The Creator of heaven and earth is always there to guide me through the rough seas and bring me safely to the harbor. I began to live a healthier life and have victory over this sin, when I realized I was doing it in my own power and that never works; at least not for me.  When I get upset at my self for a little setback, I try to remember the words of Jesus in 2 Corinthians 12:9 “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Hey, when I fail, Jesus’ grace is there for me. We need to realize that we are weak and He is strong. If you are struggling with your weight, or a sin that is weighing heavy on your mind, please do this for yourself right now: Stop what you are doing and pray these 2 things. #1 Ask for forgiveness of that sin and strength to turn away from it. #2 Ask the Lord to show you how it is ok to be weak, because Christ’s grace is sufficient for you.

If you need some prayer, please feel free to leave a comment and I will pray for you and your struggle


God bless you all. You truly are an inspiration to me.



Enjoy the poem; and, as always, feel free to share and leave a comment as well.


The Great Plains Poet, champion over gluttony and receiver of Christ’s grace,


Blocking The View Of My Shoes 

 a poem by Chris T.


Please pass me by with that piece of cake

For don’t you know I’m watching my weight

Just keep on going with that dessert cart

Don’t ask me to taste; please don’t you start


For I seem to struggle with things that are sweet

And chocolate makes me dance on my feet

Bringing quick joy to my appetite

And if I am allowed, I’ll take bite after bite


What’s this expansion behind my belt

A sluggish disposition is now being felt

My doctor cries “Stop eating yourself to death”

He acts like I am addicted to drugs, maybe Meth


Why can’t I stop wielding this fork

Shoveling bits of beef and pork

Making sure every entrée has bacon

Devouring every food that’s been taken


When did I lose self-control

I wonder if this method has taken its toll

The damage to me and to my overall state

Will my  gluttony cease before it’s too late


I’m having a hard time looking in the mirror

And the warnings could not be any clearer

Today is the day that I choose to lose

The lump that is blocking the view of my shoes

4 thoughts on “Blocking The View Of My Shoes

  1. It is so brave of you to share so candidly…
    When I struggle with my weight and health I like to remember a statement from Joyce Meyer..” You want to cast away evil spirits from your life and you dont have autority over a cookie?!!!! You let a piece of cake boss you around?!!”
    Let me know if I can send you some tasty and healthy Italian food ideas..
    Be strong in the Lord.
    TVB

    1. Bravery is my middle name, actually it would be braver to tell you my middle name. LOL. Thanks for the comment and I would love some healthy Italian recipes. Email some to me.

  2. What a great post; thanks for sharing it. I’ve gone through a similar transformation and it wasn’t until I admitted my sin of gluttony that I was able to truly give it God and start the process of turning from it.

    Never easy; always worth it! The Father is with us all if we’re willing to lean on Him. 🙂

    1. Angie, thank you so much for the excellent, well thought out comment. I am so glad you “Get It” . It is hard to give over “everything” to God in your life; but it is the only way we can be over-comers. Please feel free to read my other work and subscribe as well. I feel very blessed that God uses my writings to point people back towards the Living Lord. God bless.

Leave a Reply

