The Angels Are Going To Come

A beautiful angel of God

I find it very fascinating how children see the world. They often have a deeper understanding of things because they are not afraid to drop their pride and truly look at something and just enjoy it for what it is. A week ago, I was talking with my son during a thunderstorm we were having in our area(a very common occurrence where I live). Out of the blue he says to me: “7 thunders in a row, the angels are going to come daddy.” Diet coke almost ran out of my nostrils because I hadn’t ever thought of that before; or even heard it anywhere else. I mean, why not 4 thunders? Ten? 2.5 thunders? No, he chooses the number  7.  Now, I am not going to go into some weird numerology thing here but I just loved how his beautiful little mind works. It reminds me of my wife’s intellect  every day and that is a little blessing the Lord has allowed me to share. As I was wrapping my thoughts around the neat imagery here, crackling thunder seven times, huge buffed-out angels flying to and fro, I remembered my son a while earlier, asked me if angels had “jobs”? I said to my little guy, “yes, indeed they do.” We sat down on the couch and I started to tell him about Seraphs. In case you didn’t know, Seraphs sit directly in the presence of God. The have six wings. Two, cover their faces. Two wings, cover their feet and the remaining two, they use to fly around with. They call out to each other, in what I can only imagine is a vast and huge space, and say “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty; the whole earth is full of His glory”(Isaiah 6:3). “Man, what a totally cool job to have in heaven” my son cried out.  I began to see his point. You see, when you work for the Lord, there is no bleary-eyed, depressing stare at the alarm clock which destroys your early morning peace. There is no 2 hour commute in horrible traffic on a violence laden freeway; and there is no under your breath grumbling about your place in life. When you are confident about where the Lord has you, you just are plain-old, at peace.  We can sometimes lose sight of the fact that the Lord chose us; not we chose Him, and he wants us to be blessed, faithful and diligent in our work for Him. Here is a fantastic verse that encapsulates the entire message I was trying to get across today: Philippians 2:14,15 “Do all things without complaining and disputing,that you may become blameless and harmless, children of God without fault in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world,” Did you catch that? We are to be lights in the world. Won’t you please let it shine out today. Unlock the savior from your prayer closet and Let His love shine out for the whole world to see! Don’t forget, the world is watching us. So, it’s up to us to temper our complaining and remember that we truly are set apart from this world because He called us to have a relationship with Jesus. What a wonderful privilege; and joy that should always emanate from our hearts because of Christ’s love.


Please enjoy the poem inspired by my son’s abstract and beautifully logical mind. I know the commentary above doesn’t totally apply to the theme of this poem but, I felt the Lord leading me to write about complaining less, living out-loud more and being totally content, exactly where I am. Maybe this is just for me and maybe the Lord is speaking to you right now.


God bless you all.

Please feel free to leave a comment, subscribe and be completely filled with the overflowing love of Christ.

The Great Plains Poet, Joyous friend of the Almighty God.


The Angels Are Going To Come

by Chris T.


Storms they gather; they come, they go.

Lightning strikes the weather vane.

7 thunders in a row,

I must not let faith begin to wane.


The angels are going to come.

I caused it, this conundrum, this quagmire.

Passions driven by sinful lust.

 I’ve got to stop my need to flaunt,

And choose a path of total trust.


The angels are going to come.

They bring a message to faithful men; to sinful men,

Or a judgement from God to heed.

They have no need of paper and pen;

For their wings deliver them at great speed.


A trumpet, a shout, a crippling glory.

A voice so loud it brings instant fear.

Something so bright, so completely brilliant has entered  the holy,

Now the throne-room is  quite near.


Please, sir, carry with you, a gentle request;

And place it in the hands of my Lord.

Tell the savior I’m doing my best,

To be righteous, diligent and heard.


And thank Him just one more time,

For His example, death and grace.

Report to Him about my climb,

To reach his beautiful face.


Storms they gather, they rise, they fall.

A witness I must show the world,

Listening to the redeemer’s call.

7 thunders in a row,

The angels are going to come.

2 thoughts on “The Angels Are Going To Come

  1. I loved to learn about Seraphs.
    I sure need to remind myself that the angels are coming fro me too and not complain about my place in life. Grazie amico e ratello mio!

  2. I loved to learn about Seraphs.
    I sure need to remind myself that the angels are coming for me too and not complain about my place in life. Grazie amico e ratello mio!

Leave a Reply

