A Lesson From A Book Of Word Searches

When looking behing the words so fine you will find a God who’s divine.

Forward, backward, sideways and diagonal; wisdom is hard to find, but if you will look for it from God, He will show you how to look between the lines.

Shortly after my accident the neurologist came into my hospital room and began to tell me what I could do to improve my cognitive and memory skills. Then one day, as my wife was in the magazine aisle in our local grocery store, she picked up a huge book of Word Searches. She thought that if I was to continually use my brain to look up things, I would improve my memory and my cognitive skills would sharpen as well. She was right. Yes, yes, I said it: “she was right”. As she always looks after me, she helped me greatly improve my “brain skills” by giving me that huge book. What I wasn’t expecting was the lesson the Lord was teaching me: God is alive in His Word and those who ask for wisdom will receive it; if they believe.

John Chapter 1 says: “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.”
(John 1:1 ESV)

Yep, that means the bible is God’s Word and that Word is living, it always has and will always continue to be so. When we struggle with a difficult decision, principle or the Lord’s will for one’s life; we lack wisdom and discernment for that situation. A lot of us believers pray for God to answer prayers, or get us out of a situation; but few of us ask for the wisdom to learn from it.  The Lord’s knowledge is power. When we ask God to show us things, we receive God’s truth; and that truth is life-changing.

A few months ago, I had a difficult situation come up. I had no idea how to handle it. I combed my bible for answers to amass my line of attack, but to no avail. The one thing my strategy was lacking was: I totally forgot to ask God for His wisdom in the situation; and I didn’t have faith that He was going to provide it to me.

The book of James says: ” If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind.”
(James 1:5-6 ESV). I had tried to do the right thing, but in the wrong way. My wisdom and effort is nothing and God’s is everything. I am always amazed why I go back to my own discernment; my own strength. Aha, but God’s is the never-ending resource for all our lives; and the quicker we acquiesce to that fact, the sooner our discernment of God’s direction for our lives grows.

Try to decipher the puzzle of your lives with God’s infinite wisdom and truth. Look behind the surface meaning of scripture and ask the Lord what He has for you in it. Your wisdom in the Lord, due to Christ’s power of the cross, will give you the insight from the Lord to get you through the pitfalls of your life; if only you will ask God and believe.

The Great Plains Poet, seeker of God’s truth in a world full of false teaching.

Please take the time to comment, subscribe, hit the “like button here and on Facebook, re-post, and most of all, tell others about what you read here today.

The Discernment Of Deeper Things 

by Chris T.

The juxtaposition of words and knowledge can be unclear,

Clouding the wise and trapping the fool.

It seems the words make questions that I am powerless,

Almost lifeless to answer; or its revelation I will not comprehend.

I acknowledge I am lacking wisdom or the discernment to ask for it.

For I was wondering, no, pondering the truth of it all.

Where can one purchase, or be guided to,

A definitive to build upon one’s being.

My circuitous system of alignment and discovery,

Has led me to no finish line and uncovered no nuggets of wisdom.

Now, I must admit to myself, to the world,

That I am powerless to ascertain the instruction for which I seek on my own.

Now that my concession is fully complete,

My admittance of the lack of discernment is beyond my grasp,

I bow down to a Lord and Savior,

With innumerable volumes of measurements to His power and grace.

O, Lord of wisdom and truth,

Impart unto me the knowledge of my situation,

Create in me a right spirit that hungers,

Feasting on your revelation,

And looking for you.

Forwards, backwards, sideways and diagonal,

You give your principles between the lines,

Making a penitent man wise and holy,

Giving your truth as a gift for the mere asking,

If we will only have faith,

That God is found in the search of His Word.

Wisdom, discernment and the search for God’s truth,

All gifts for the asking,

By a man who is faithful and patient,

Awaiting the answer of our Lord.

4 thoughts on “A Lesson From A Book Of Word Searches

    1. Thank you so much for your support and faithful readership. I thank God for your kind words and the help in getting the lost back to Christ because of your mention of my blog. God Bless you and thanks again, I am truly humbled.

Leave a Reply

