Letting Go Of Your Grip On Shiny Things

Arrowhead park pics 027

The deeper knowledge of God is through the lonely valleys of soul poverty and abnegation of all things. The blessed ones who possess the kingdom are they who have repudiated every external thing and have rooted from their hearts all sense of possessing. These are the “poor in spirit”.-A.W.Tozer: “The Pursuit Of God”.

Abnegation: to deny oneself
Repudiate: to reject in dissapproval

Is Tozer saying God doesn’t want you to have some nice things? No, of course not. He is saying that you should not put your hope and comfort in those things; to not strive after those “comforts” constantly in an effort to attain peace by gaining them.

Matthew 5:3 says: “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”
The word in greek for “poor” in this verse is: Ptochos. Which means being reduced to begging, asking for alms. When we are hungry for God’s righteousness in our lives it produces satisfaction(Matt 5:6) God fills up those who diligently seek after Him with a humble and lowly spirit.

I have learned this lesson the hard way. Now, I don’t seek after all the latest gadgets and trinkets to fill up a place that only God can encompass in the first place. I found out that was the most futile thing I was doing in my life. I don’t always succeed; and the pull of worldly things is quite great, but I try very hard to give back to the Lord all that is His in the first place and only seek after Him and what His will is for me and my family. It released me from a bondage that I didn’t even know I was a captive to in the first place.

Seek after Him folks. You will find what your heart was searching for in the first place.
God bless you all,

The Great Plains Poet.

Leave a Reply

