Emboldened To Share

chrysalisblog1

It can be so hard to share our faith; to lay open our hearts for the possibility of ridicule and exclusion. Most of our lives are filled with enough trouble in and of itself, that we really don’t want to add any more fuel to that fire. I mean, why invite the devil to your doorstop? Why?….because the joy of knowing the Lord can’t be contained very long; or at least that is how you are supposed to feel.

Once, Jesus asked Peter 3 times if he loved him (John 21:15-17). Not because Jesus’ Miracle-Ear wasn’t turned up, but the Lord was trying to hammer home a point that means so much to Him: God wants those of us who know him to “go out unto all the nations” and proclaim His greatness to all that you can; but, fear and uneasiness can be a powerful thing. How so?

A few years back, I was walking through my city listening to music and having a lovely conversation with God. I made a couple of turns and found myself at a park in the center of my hometown. So, because the sun hadn’t been out for a couple of days, I decided to sit on a bench and let the sun bathe me in its warmth. Minutes began to ebb away, and after awhile, a man riding on a powered wheelchair positioned himself up directly to my left and his wife found the last vacant park bench next to him. My gaze shifted from the marble statue that centered the whole park and drifted over to the couple on my left. I then heard the Lord tell me: “Share Me with them”. An ice cold chill gripped my heart instantly because I hadn’t done that in such a long time. My mind began to swim with thoughts like : “How are you supposed to do this again? What if I start to sound stupid; because my teeth are already starting to chatter? The’re so quiet. What if they don’t want to be bothered?” So, I sat there next to those nice folks; hiding the Hope of all man and talking myself into insecurity and indecision. Ten minutes went by, and we exchanged a few smiles, glances and grins. Then, without warning, the elderly couple gathered their things, nodded to me and simply moved away from the center of the park, and away from the hope that I had hidden within my heart to share.

I am not proud of that missed opportunity to share Christ with someone that I KNOW God told me to speak to. For I was frozen in fear and human rationale. Then slowly, with a great sense of dejected self, I got up from the park bench and walked back home begging for the Lord’s forgiveness.

 After a few blocks had passed by, I prayed that the Lord would embolden me to share his wonderful hope with whomever I can; because I never want to miss an opportunity like that again.

If you struggle to share your faith, please pray that God would embolden you to share the Joy that lies within your heart; Jesus.

Here is a verse to hold on to; so you’ll hit the mark for the purpose of sharing your faith.

Acts 1:8 “But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”

Please take the time to comment, “like” here and on Facebook and Twitter, repost, and Most of all, tell others what you read here today.

The Great Plains Poet, not immune to fear, but still empowered to share the Hope of the world

Enjoy the poem,

Chris

Emboldened To Share 

by Chris T.

With the Creator’s touch and flair,

I suddenly became emboldened to share.

Now the days have come where excuses have turned to haste

For the weaving threads of love upon my heart are now laced.

I used to keep a secret, not dark or bleak,

But one that should be shared; if only the courage to speak,

Would flow from my fallible lips the indomitable hope,

That keeps souls from sliding down a treacherous slope.

So I asked the Lord to crack open the lock,

That held back the truth he had for His flock,

For I was under the lie that the responsibility was Thine,

When the mission to share His salvation; was solely mine.

At first, I hemmed and hawed like Moses at the bush,

Listing shortcomings after failures as I began to push,

Then the Spirit fanned a flame which began to rise,

A confidence within which focused my eyes,

So I got up from the break room chair and made steps towards the one,

That appeared to be hurting; the man the others would shun,

And shared with him a hope which he needed to find,

Because he was helpless and spiritually blind.

Suddenly, shackles fell off and scales began to fall,

For I harkened my ear to the Lord and answered his call,

To set aside fear and imperfections and all of my care,

For the chrysalis is now emptied and I have become emboldened to share.

2 thoughts on “Emboldened To Share

  1. A Sovereign God, the One Who is Love, is not thwarted nor suprised by our fears. A Sovereign God, the One Who is Love, carries on revealing Who HE is and HIS Love never fails.

Leave a Reply

