My Rebellious Heart!!

Black Hills Sep2013 077

“Submission is a heart attitude towards authority, whereas obedience is an action…When we submit we will be obedient. But just because we are obedient does not mean we have truly submitted to authority.”-K.P. Yohannan: Touching Godliness through submission.

Up until a couple of years ago, I have always had a problem truly submitting to authority. I wouldn’t submit to God, then before that, government, and still even earlier, parents and bosses. I have always had a strong rebellious streak within me. The Lord, had all along, want me to get this part of my life under His blessing; I just couldn’t acquiesce to this…ever!

It felt like a defeat to submit; and from my early on, I didn’t like to lose. This was due in part to my upbringing and some scar-tissue from childhood.

But God, in His all-loving and holy way, wanted me to feel the blessing of submission and what that could do for me. So, he went step by step; breaking down little walls, bit by bit. Until, I was eventually mature(and ready) enough to be approached by God about my rebellious heart. I gave it all to him from that point on.

I still to this day, drag my feet occasionally in this area, and that is just being a sinner saved by grace; but I quickly come back to His loving and waiting arms to do what He has asked me to do, which was all for my benefit in the first place.

Here is a verse to meditate on concerning the subject of submission. The bible says: In the same way, you who are younger, submit yourselves to your elders. All of you, clothe yourselves with humility toward one another, because, “God opposes the proud but shows favor to the humble.” Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.-1 Peter 5:6-7(NIV)

We will be lifted up by God if we will be willing to be humble ourselves and submit to those who are in authority over us. The promise is right there above.

If you struggle with a rebellious heart, ask the Lord for forgiveness and have Him show you what you can do to change this around in your life. You will be blessed and a weight will be lifted up; giving you freedom that you didn’t know you could have.

May God richly bless you all as you give ALL of yourselves over to God.

The Great Plains Poet

Leave a Reply

