Long Overdue

IMG_0069

A week ago, I had a prayer answered by the Lord that I had been praying for a long, long time. In fact so long, that the ink had faded in the prayer journal I’d written it in. I found myself sharing a curious feeling after this had occurred. I was genuinely surprised that it had actually been answered; not because I lacked faith that God could get it done, but I started to wonder if God wanted to answer this prayer in the first place.

I became convicted of my weak conviction as I came across a bible verse I had known from my past.
It read: “Therefore the Lord waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you, for the Lord is a God of justice, blessed are all those who wait for him.” Isaiah 30:18(ESV)

Realizing that I had gotten tired of waiting for the Lord’s timing, I gently asked the Lord to forgive my lack of faith while thanking God for his graciousness.

If you are tired of waiting upon the Lord for your answer, I encourage you to hold on a little longer. Your answer might be right around the corner; just as the request that you’ve penned has started to fade.

Enjoy the poem below. Please take the time to comment, re-post, hit the like button of Facebook and Twitter, but most of all, tell others what you have read here today.

The Great Plains Poet

Long Overdue
by Chris T.

My surprise was complete before my eyes,
Quelling the sobs from multiple cries,
A long forgotten prayer did finally come true,
As I began to think it was long overdue.

Some time ago the ink had faded upon the page,
Of a prayer request written down in a fit of rage.
Angry that something tried to exploit,
In a time of weakness, they became quite adroit.

So faithfully I prayed that this obstacle be removed,
Day by day, my faithfulness was proved,
Hoping He’d hear this request from above,
Due to His all-encompassing love.

Much time had passed, as this prayer collected dust,
As my steely resolve had now began to rust.
When out of the blue I was filled with shock,
An answer had come, as I’d forgotten the clock.

My heart welled up with joy as this new day arrived,
Now a hope deep within was newly revived.
But why was I surprised to see God had come through,
In the long ago prayer that I’d felt was overdue?

Leave a Reply

