I Sing Because I’m Free

sparrowblog1a

This week, I was spending some time with the Lord and I was listening to Slacker Radio in the background as it was tuned to the Gospel channel I had created. I was turning pages in my bible when, Mahalia Jackson’s voice was soaring away and Hezekiah Walker was testifying as only he knows how. Children’s voices in a choir suddenly broke the silence as they started to enter into the old hymn: “His Eye Is On The Sparrow”. The Mississippi Children’s Choir was singing one of the best versions of that song that I had ever heard as they nailed the line “I sing because I’m Free” with power.

I started to think of all the Christians out there who are persecuted in places like: Iran, Philippines, China, and many, many others. I was reminded of a pastor who had been imprisoned in Iran for simply being a Christian and how sad he felt because he had been separated from his family so long; long enough to be shocked at how long his daughter’s hair had grown since the last time he’d seen her in person. I ask the Lord today to fill that man’s heart with the joy of knowing that, even though his body is imprisoned, his soul has been set free. So sing Pastor Saeed Abedini; and sing well!

Today, it is my prayer that we all walk with joy today and sing because the Lord has set us free.

Please read the words to a wonderful song of joy and provision from the Lord called:

His Eye Is On The Sparrow

Why should I be discouraged
And why should the shadows fall
Why should my heart be lonely
And long for heaven and home

When Jesus is my portion
My constant friend is he
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know He watches me

I sing because I’m happy
I sing because I’m free
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know He watches me

God, you truly do watch over us and I am so thankful that you do!

The Great Plains Poet, just another “sparrow” in the Kingdom of God

May the Lord richly bless you today!!

2 thoughts on “I Sing Because I’m Free

Leave a Reply

