Where Seldom Is Heard A Discouraging Word

encourageramblog1a

“Did you know that we are actually commanded by our God to encourage one another? He expects us to serve it to one another “family style”. Believe me, if we in God’s family fail to do it, it is doubtful we’ll find it anywhere else.”-The Family of God by Chuck Swindoll.

As I was reading through this chapter of Mr.Swindoll’s book, I was going over the words to “Home on the Range”; that old song from so long ago. What I love about the verses in the tune is the imagery it paints as a tranquil longing for the home that is at rest.

I began to think about the things that smash that picture the song paints onto the ground. What I felt was: The most divisive principle that shatters that unity is Dis-couraging Words.

The bible says that “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits.”-Pro 18:21(ESV)

You know what? Today, I choose my words to stand for life!

So, what is the opposite of Discouraging Words?
Simply, it is Encouragement.

It, (encouragement), seems to be hidden from us in our daily lives. This should not be so!

I have seen the positive difference it makes when I use it in raising my son and I have felt its heart-warming effects when it has been lavished upon me.

Just knowing that someone has taken their focus off of themselves for a few moments to take the time to speak it into your life, should help strengthen you to reach the heights that the Lord has planned for you and the valleys you might struggle through as well.

Therefore, cultivate this atmosphere of encouragement in your families, neighborhoods, and churches. You never know, a few well-chosen words in the right spirit might show someone the Love of Christ which they have been looking for all along.

Here’s what the Word says on the subject of encouragement: “But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called “Today,” so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.”-Hebrews 3:13(NIV)

So today, and heck everyday forward, let us encourage each other so that our hearts don’t become hardened by our sins. It might be a small but powerful impetus to reach the heights of the mountain that God wishes you to climb with boldness as the ram does!

Let our homes be a place where you seldom hear discouraging words.

May God keep you in His wonderful Way,

The Great Plains Poet

8 thoughts on “Where Seldom Is Heard A Discouraging Word

  1. There are days when not one encouraging word is spoken . . . by myself or others!!!! Lord, help us to be an encouragement to those You bring onto our path, let us not be so self-absorbed that we cannot utter a word of hope to someone you send our way. Amen and Amen! ~ Blessings ~

  2. Beautifully said, just beautiful! I agree wholeheartedly and you used one of my all-time favorite scriptures. It is up to us to elevate one another above ourselves and to speak words of hope, faith and love into the lives of everyone we come in contact with.

    God bless you, keep writing and spreading those life-giving words my friend!

    PS I got so caught up in reading the post I forgot that I came by to say “Thank you so much!” for liking on of our recent post.

    Love in Christ,
    Rebecca (and Ma Chris too!)

    1. Thank you so much for the very thoughtful words.
      I try extremely hard to be led by the Holy Spirit to use my gifts for His kingdom. This message was near and dear to my heart.
      May the Lord continue to bless you Rebecca!!

Leave a Reply

