The Change, Some blessing And The Splendor Of Autumn

A small gesture that reminded me of the blessings of the Lord that are to come.
A small gesture that reminded me of the blessings of the Lord that are to come.

“For everything there is a season and a time for every matter under heaven:”-Ecclesiastes 3:1

Often this verse and the ones after it, are quoted during this time of year. I have personally read it and heard it in some form or the other countless times, but this season seems different in some way. I have noticed much growth as a man of God that has taken place inside my heart by being faithful to walk through the thorns and thistles of the path the Lord has me on now. During this tenuous walk, I just decided to make a point of praising Him for this struggle because of the benefits of steadfastness that this walk will produce. So, this Fall has different implications for me. What it has is: the promise of the blessings that are to come for my family and I.

Before my wife left for work yesterday, she handed me a large leaf that had separated from its branch and made a meandering glide downward to alight upon my front porch. I smiled and held it in my hand for a while. Then, as my son exploded out the door towards school, I watched from the window of my house as he trod upon many other leaves that had fallen onto the sidewalk which was kissed with a chilling wet residue from rain the night before. His child-like wonder made him gaze down at his feet as he took in all the colors of every step his Nikes made in progress towards his day of learning.

My son’s favorite season is right around the corner. He will soon climb the ladder in my garage, grab his bright orange toboggan from the rafters, and shake three seasons of dust particles all over our vehicle that rests in there. He already has that twinkle in his eye because he is starting to imagine the snow-covered hills that his screaming orange sled will conquer as the spray of snow covers his blue bomber-hat that protects his ears.

The reason that smile is starting to surface a few weeks before his favorite winter activity begins is this: Connor is anticipating the winter season; which is the blessing the Lord will bestow upon us all.
This is one of the great lessons that children have to teach adults in our ultra-fast, unnecessarily heavy-burdened lives. They often feel the change of the seasons before we adults do.

I have recently uploaded a post on this blog about waiting upon the Lord with an expectant heart called: “There is magic at that mountain.” I think it couples well with getting excited in your heart that the seasons are changing again and the Lord’s blessings are coming to His people.

In Psalm 144:15 it speaks: “Blessed are the people to whom such blessings fall!
Blessed are the people whose God is the LORD!”

As I am holding this brown-stained fallen leaf, I drink in its beauty with my eyes and my heart begins to flutter and soar, as I am waiting with delicious anticipation of the blessing that will be coming from the Lord soon.

Today, I hope you find yourself telling the Lord you can’t wait to see his Glory fulfilled in your life. Let this change in the season that is upon you bring an excitement for all that God is working out for your good; blessings, bounty and growth that marks all our lives as we follow the King of Kings.

Look outside this day and be reminded of His Creation.

The Great Plains Poet

4 thoughts on “The Change, Some blessing And The Splendor Of Autumn

  1. Awesome message, we are on the same page today. I love this part: “As I am holding this brown-stained fallen leaf, I drink in its beauty with my eyes and my heart begins to flutter and soar, as I am waiting with delicious anticipation of the blessing that will be coming from the Lord soon.”

    Thank you for the hope you have given me in these lines, now I’m going to make tea…blessings, Diana

  2. Wow! What a great picture you paint with your words. Such a blessing to see someone allow God to work through them this way. I love reading your posts and having them encourage my heart. God bless you, friend, in all that you are accomplishing here.

    1. Thank you so much for your very kind words. I try very hard to use my talent for the Lord and to represent Him well in all that I do. I am so glad to hear you were ministered in so way.
      May God richly bless you .

Leave a Reply

