Free Poem Friday-10/18/13

If you'll stay rooted in Jesus, oh, the heights a person can reach
If you’ll stay rooted in Jesus, oh, the heights a person can reach

“Therefore, as you received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in him, rooted and built up in him and established in the faith, just as you were taught, abounding in thanksgiving.”-Colosians 2:6-7(ESV)

Thanks for showing up for the second edition of Free Poem Friday! The poem below is an older work of mine and I felt led to bring it out again.

I can’t stress the importance of being rooted in Christ enough. I would never have made it through this harrowing journey that I am on without Jesus. If you feel you might need to grow and have a deeper walk, or even start one today; seek Him.

Let this poem speak to your heart.

Please take the time to comment, re-post, “Like” on Facebook and Twitter, and most of all, tell others what you’ve read here today.

The Great Plains Poet

The Tree That’s Rooted In You

a poem by Chris T.

The leaves they fall and shed for Thee.

A reflection of time and the continuation of me.

And though they wither and dance in the sky,

Still the tree stands refusing to die.

Strictures, they place you in an unshakable grip.

To make you stumble, unfocused, or trip.

Even though you wrap up my trunk with chains,

My branches reach higher and my faith still remains.

Summer, I flourish, showing all of His glory.

Fall, peels another layer, revealing my story.

Winter, it comes like it or not.

Spring, it brings life, overcoming the rot.

I sway, I buckle, but yet I don’t break.

For what feels like a felling is only a shake.

I look up onward to heights that I might reach;

Ignoring the tickling of the enemy’s speech.

I dream of a boy who might climb my limbs,

Who’ll use his imagination and fulfill all his whims.

I’ll show him the top and its excellent view,

And the strength of the tree that’s rooted in You.

Leave a Reply

