Free Poem Friday-11/08/13

Build your life square and true.
Build your life square and true.

Welcome once again to Free Poem Friday! This week I wanted to send out a poem about how important it is that we build our lives upon the Rock-Jesus. The piece is a warning of what can happen if he build our homes in haste and not on a foundation of Jesus. I am not going to go into too much more detail about this one. I feel it is self-explanatory.

Here’s what the Word of God says on the subject: Luke 6:47-49 “ Everyone who comes to me and hears my words and does them, I will show you what he is like: he is like a man building a house, who dug deep and laid the foundation on the rock. And when a flood arose, the stream broke against that house and could not shake it, because it had been well built. But the one who hears and does not do them is like a man who built a house on the ground without a foundation. When the stream broke against it, immediately it fell, and the ruin of that house was great.” (ESV)

Let us all make sure we have obtained a Doctorate from the University of Jesus!!

Build it tall and strong my friends,

The Great Plains Poet

A House That Leans

By Chris T.

I found a patch of dirt on which to build my life.

It was unto me a new beginning to construct again.

So, I ventured to rise up some sticks and mortar,

A place of pride and a stronghold of self.

Seeking the beauty of a glossed shimmering facade,

I threw up my walls with speed and indifference.

Concerning myself with only the beauty of sweeping gables and elegant down valleys,

So the pinnacles arise into a higher place than others.

This is my construction plan and my will.

Nails are sunk flush with hammers full of disregard,

For the form, for the lines and for the solidity of strength.

But, up it went; my little house and a great sense of pride,

That I have made something above everyone else.

Storm after storm, came and chipped away at stucco and brick.

Shingles they fell and gutters became overwhelmed.

I began to see the moon shinning through the ceiling of my living room.

But in my futility, I still danced upon my soggy carpet oblivious to my hasty mistake.

For I discovered, a little too late, to not build a home in haste,

To take the time to construct it true.

Letting not impatience dictate the strength that’s imbued,

Forsaking its plumb for a shine that gleams,

Because my domicile is a house that leans.

Leave a Reply

