Free Poem Friday-11/15/13

McKennan Park-12 076

This poem the Lord gave me when I hit a wall and exhaustion coupled with pain had taken its toll. I just didn’t want to continue doing the things of the Lord that I knew He wanted me to. I felt I needed to pull back and just rest awhile. Now, I know that rest is good sometimes, but in my heart, I didn’t want to do ANY of the Lord’s work ANY longer.

The Lord knew I didn’t really mean that but completely understood my weariness. So, He woke me up one night and I began to write. This is the poem that came from that late evening effort.

Years later, as I am reading it again for the first time in many months, Jesus reminded me of this verse in scripture:”Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”-Philippians 3:13-14(ESV)

I find today that God works through His people. If I don’t act, then how will the love of the Lord be proclaimed in my home, in my neighborhood, my church, throughout my state and eventually to the world?

I know that there is a time to rest and that is between everyone and the Lord. But, we can’t be on the sidelines for long seasons in our lives. That is what I wanted to do that night so long ago; to stop serving and just concern myself with my own complicated life.

God has given me strength. Now, I continue to take just one step further until the Lord tells me it’s time to rest or He returns to collect all those who’ve called upon His name.

Enjoy the poem below. Please comment, re-post, “Like” on Facebook and Twitter, and most of all, tell others what you’ve read here today.

The Great Plains Poet

I Just Don’t Want To Get Up Today

a poem by Chris T.

I am weary beyond my capacity for recovery

The feeling of marrow pushing through bone; through muscle and skin

A morning I wish would never happen or just go away

I Just don’t want to get up today

From my pain and sorrow I count the steps that I know this day will take

Too many to travel and too many to escape

The covers are too heavy to join the fray

I just don’t want to get up today

The day starts off with an ache in my tooth

And the old back injury has flared again

Man, this feeling I can not shake

I just didn’t want to get up today

I speed down the street to head off to work

Just realized I forgot to take my medicine and can’t turn back now

Will I end this day still sane

Why did I even get up today

Someone’s in the road; I swerve and barely miss

I stop the car and find out what’s wrong

Oh, thank you Jesus this man is Ok

Now, I can assure you I am awake today

Now I listen and listen to this broken man

His wife has just died and the children have left his home

So I knelt down on the road and we began to pray

Jesus, oh Jesus, I’m glad I woke up today.

Leave a Reply

