The Discernment Of Deeper Things

Black Hills Sep2013 027

Since Free Poem Friday has snuck up on me so quickly this week, I decided to post and older poem about Wisdom.

Since I have been seeking wisdom, I have come to some conclusions:
1. I truly posses none of it in the most pure form
2. Wisdom’s true genesis will always come from God.

Many times in my life I have tried to seek wisdom from many sources and many forms; but I have always found myself kneeling in front of the cross and staring Jesus right in the face.

If you need wisdom today, seek it from Jesus because, believe me when I say this, apart from Jesus, you can truly do nothing.

Here’s a verse I keep in mind that most folks don’t usually associate with wisdom. It is: John 15:5 ESV “I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.”

The above verse I always link together with James 1:5 “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.”

These two verses remind me where true wisdom comes from and that if it is needed…it Will be given.

Please enjoy the poem below. Take the time to comment, re-post, hit “like” on Facebook, and most of all, tell others what you’ve read here today.

The Great Plains Poet

The Discernment Of Deeper Things

by Chris T.

The juxtaposition of words and knowledge can be unclear,

Clouding the wise and trapping the fool.

It seems the words make questions that I am powerless,

Almost lifeless to answer; or its revelation I will not comprehend.

I acknowledge I am lacking wisdom or the discernment to ask for it.

For I was wondering, no, pondering the truth of it all.

Where can one purchase, or be guided to,

A definitive to build upon one’s being.

My circuitous system of alignment and discovery,

Has led me to no finish line and uncovered no nuggets of wisdom.

Now, I must admit to myself, to the world,

That I am powerless to ascertain the instruction for which I seek on my own.

Now that my concession is fully complete,

My admittance of the lack of discernment is beyond my grasp,

I bow down to a Lord and Savior,

With innumerable volumes of measurements to His power and grace.

O, Lord of wisdom and truth,

Impart unto me the knowledge of my situation,

Create in me a right spirit that hungers,

Feasting on your revelation,

And looking for you.

Forwards, backwards, sideways and diagonal,

You give your principles between the lines,

Making a penitent man wise and holy,

Giving your truth as a gift for the mere asking,

If we will only have faith,

That God is found in the search of His Word.

Wisdom, discernment and the search for God’s truth,

All gifts for the asking,

By a man who is faithful and patient,

Awaiting the answer of our Lord.

Leave a Reply

