Shake The Dust Off That Gift!

helpinghand

Today, I feel blessed. Why you ask? What makes today the day that stirs you up, you say? I am so thankful!

I have been blessed by the Lord with a certain gifting that has allowed me to be used by the Lord in a dynamic way. I get so much joy out of seeing someone I have taught get that glimmer in their eye when the lessons and drills I have taught them have summed together to make their spirit sing out to the Lord; all because I decided to use my skill endowed by the Creator.

I, for one, am tired of being guilty of the Great “Omission”. I want to fulfill the Great Commission. So many events this week have woven together to touch me to dust off my talents even more and get out there and reach the lost, hurting, and hopeless. We all can heed the call of Jesus and do our little part wherever God has us now.

Let’s let the words of Jesus do the talking on this point further:
Mar 16:15 ESV 15 And he said to them, “Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation.

    Shake The Dust Off That Gift

by Chris T.

There are times when a gift can be misused,
Where the intention of the giver can be misconstrued.
If we push that gift ahead or in front,
Or, if my hand drags it from behind,
I must remember to keep the Author in mind.

It is Him who supplies the paint, the brushes.
Only He can swath the ocean so blue,
Or construct each and every flake so white.
So, as I reflect, it is God who supplies the might.

Now is the time to dust the shelf and take up my gift.
The one that was designed just for me.
I must not covet another’s talent or might,
For my eyes are fixed upon The Lord’s Heavenly Light.

Let us put it to use, these skills, crafts, and knacks.
No longer should we settle in comfort upon our backs.
Shall we be inspired to reach out, to the ones He loves so much?
You never know, you just might be the one that’s touched.

5 thoughts on “Shake The Dust Off That Gift!

  1. I knew that just by the title of this post, I would be challenged, so I intentionally put off reading this all day. That 5 year old in me that doesn’t want to hear what I know my Daddy God wants me to hear acting, well, 5!!

    I finally read it and was so touched I immediately read it to Jeff. What a special insight and gift to put concepts like this into words you have. Thank you for sharing Your gift and allowing God to touch, heal, convict, and encourage those of us fortunate enough to receive what God has prepared for us thru you’re gift. I appreciate that you still make the time to put pen to paper! God Bless you All over at TGPP!! 🙂
    Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this. I have been learning this lesson this week. Very timely post 🙂 God bless you and thank you for being willing to minister for Him.

Leave a Reply

