Quips, Jabs, And Slights

Mistymornblogpics 039

I have been reading in the book of Isaiah Chapter 36 today and noticed a fundamental principle of God and a fear-tactic of the enemy. The words trust and deliver really jump off of the page in this chapter. An interesting scene unfolds here. A representative of the Assyrian army surrounds Judah and taunts the people and King Hezekiah. The Rabshakeh, the king of Assyria’s representative, begins say things like this “Beware lest Hezekiah mislead you by saying, ‘The LORD will deliver us.’ Has any of the gods of the nations delivered his land out of the hand of the king of Assyria?”

What he is doing is called psychological warfare. So the people of Judah would lose heart, give up hope, and  lose the battle even before one arrow is aflight or a shield is raised. This is the same thing the Romans would do while marching onto the battlefield while holding the impressive standards that denoted all of the battles the legion had won with the ultimate distinction being the Golden Eagle

In Isaiah Chapter 36 we see those two impactful, reoccurring words : Trust and Deliver. When you read the chapter, a theme begins to arise like the blast of a angel’s trumpet. If you trust in the Lord, He will deliver you.

The bible says in: [Isaiah 26:3 ESV] 3 “You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you.” You see the devil yells, roars, and puts on a heck of a show to divert your attention in your Mighty God in the hope that you will give up, drag down others, and ultimately die sad, broken, and in hell.

Let me tell you a small piece of my story. Shortly after my accident, after I was discharged from the hospital, for three months I teetered on the edge of slipping into a comma, and death. Some time had passed and my wife and I just had to simply trust in the word the Lord gave me; that I would be healed and I would be O.K. It was very hard, but we just believed and hoped in the power of our Lord. During the tenuous period, the devil brought the fear of me dying and leaving my wife and son all alone in this world. The taunts came hourly and every waking moment of consciousness I had. But, I decided not give into fear and to focus on one thing, and one thing alone: My Lord.

So, if you are finding your camp surrounded on all sides. If you are walking the walls and hearing the enemy’s cruel verbiage, remember the account of King Hezekiah in Isaiah 36:21 and don’t pay attention to it. Just remember the verse above in Isaiah 26:3, trust in Him, and God will bring you that perfect peace.

When the quips, jabs, and slights are sailed toward your soul, trust in the Lord and he will deliver you.

God bless you all,
The Great Plains Poet

Leave a Reply

