Fleeting Riches and Overburdened Minds

helpinghand

If there is one absolute you can grasp upon, it is this: “Seasons come, seasons they fade away, but the Lord never changes. He is the runway lights in your turbulence. He is that strong gentle voice that your heart longs to hear when your flesh is plugging its ears.”The Great Plains Poet

I have found that a lot of people, even the strongest Christians, live within this head space far too much. They are either consumed with their perception of their lack of riches, or you’ll find an outlook of doom and gloom. If you discover yourself held within this gaze, the solution is simple to hear and sometimes hard to do consistently. In the book of Philippians Chapter 4 Verses 11-13. It says: [ESV] 11 Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. 12 I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. 13 I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

Paul is letting us know that after a few seasons of experience on this planet that he discovered some truths. He lays it out plainly and I will attempt to relate it to our generation in words I would use to explain to a non believer, or a new Christian. “Hey Brother/Sister, I had lots of expendable cash, and I’ve scratched and clawed for every penny. There have been seasons in my life where I’ve worn a new shirt every week, and periods where I broke out the needle and thread; the patches and the iron. Times arose where the table fair was steak and chocolate, and there was durations of sleepless nights with an empty stomach. No matter how smart, how attractive you think you are, how wealthy you are right now, and how readily you can quench your voracious appetite for consumer nuggets of distractions, you will never be able to satisfy that hunger the Lord put in you to know him. Brother/Sister, learn to be happy where the Lord has you right now, because it’s quite a lovely journey. And, that journey is worth telling to someone else. Your strength does nothing, the Lord’s is everything. It is the stasis your soul longs for. So, don’t fight it. Don’t try to over power it with running after the golden rings and don’t obsess about your never-ceasing troubles. Your strength comes from the Lord, or it should. If you find it isn’t, maybe think about what you think about all day. Is your mind consumed with fleeting riches and overburdened with troubles? Let us all remember our strength comes from Almighty God and you will

God bless You All,

The Great Plains Poet

2 thoughts on “Fleeting Riches and Overburdened Minds

Leave a Reply

